Vivaldi Suite

The Four Seasons  is a group of four concerti grossi by Italian composer Antonio Vivaldi, each of which gives musical expression to a season of the year. They were written around 1721 and were published in 1725 in Amsterdam.

Each season is broken into three sections. Vivaldi’s arrangement is as follows:

Concerto No. 1 in E major, Op. 8, RV 269, “Spring” (La primavera)

  1. Allegro (in E major)
  2. Largo e pianissimo sempre (in C♯ minor)
  3. Allegro pastorale (in E major)

Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 8, RV 315, “Summer” (L’estate)

  1. Allegro non molto (in G minor)
  2. Adagio e piano – Presto e forte (in G minor)
  3. Presto (in G minor)

Concerto No. 3 in F major, Op. 8, RV 293, “Autumn” (L’autunno)

  1. Allegro (in F major)
  2. Adagio molto (in D minor)
  3. Allegro (in F major)

Concerto No. 4 in F minor, Op. 8, RV 297, “Winter” (L’inverno)

  • Allegro non molto (in F minor)
  • Largo (in E♭ major)
  • Allegro (in F minor)

Vivaldi Suite is a new work by James Loffler for the LONDON BALLET THEATRE. For each season a choreography gives dance expression of the season.

The first movement Allegro in E major of Spring will open the Vivaldi Suite.

Followed by the third movement Presto in G major of Summer and the first movement Allegro in F major of Autumn.

The Storm Allegro non molto in F minor of Winter will close our Vivaldi Suite.